Norbert Frei, Michael Frey und Wolfgang Thierse beim der Preisverleihung
Photo: Jens Jeske

Willy Brandt Prize

Every two years, the Foundation awards the Willy Brandt Prize for Contemporary History. The prize is awarded to outstanding research that deals either directly with the work and legacy of Willy Brandt or with a chapter of contemporary history associated with him and his political life. The thesis should not be older than two years and may already have been published; dissertations or habilitations must have been accepted by the respective faculty at the time of submission.

The Foundation will bear the printing costs for the publication of the prizewinner’s work to an appropriate amount. It may offer to publish the work at the Foundation’s expense in the publication series „Willy Brandt Studies”.

The application period for the Willy Brandt Prize for Contemporary History 2021 is now officially over. The application period für the Willy Brandt Prize 2023 will start in October 2022 . All details on the current call can be found in the Call for Proposals and the Rules of Procedure (in German).

The former recipients of the Willy Brandt Prize are:

  • Willy-Brandt-Prize 2019: Michael Frey
    Vom Dritten Weg zur Dritten Welt: Der Kalte Krieg und die Entstehung der Neuen Linken in den Vereinigten Staaten und der Bundesrepublik Deutschland, 1956–1965
  • Willy-Brandt-Prize 2017: Scott Krause
    Bringing Cold War Democracy to West Berlin, 1933–1972: A Shared German-American Project, London, UK, Routledge 2018
  • Willy-Brandt-Prize 2015: Kristina Meyer
    Die SPD und die NS-Vergangenheit 1945–1990, Göttingen: Wallstein-Verlag 2015 (Beiträge zur Geschichte des 20. Jahrhunderts; 18)
  • Willy-Brandt-Prize 2013: not awarded
  • Willy-Brandt-Prize 2011: Claudia Hiepel
    Willy Brandt und Georges Pompidou: Deutsch-französische Europapolitik zwischen Aufbruch und Krise, München: Oldenbourg 2012 (Studien zur Internationalen Geschichte; 29)
  • Willy-Brandt-Prize 2009: Petri Hakkarainen
    A State of Peace in Europe. West Germany and the CSCE, 1966–1975, New York, Oxford: Berghahn Books 2011
  • Willy-Brandt-Prize 2007: Robin M. Allers
    Besondere Beziehungen. Deutschland, Norwegen und Europa in der Ära Brandt (1966–1974), Bonn: Dietz 2009 (Willy-Brandt-Studien; 2)
  • Willy-Brandt-Prize 2005: Daniel Friedrich Sturm
    Uneinig in die Einheit. Die Sozialdemokratie und die Vereinigung Deutschlands 1989/90, Bonn: Dietz 2006 (Willy-Brandt-Studien; 1)